The Michael T. Rainwater Dentist of the Year Award was created by NDDS in 1971 to recognize annually a member of the organization who has contributed significantly to the progress of dental health and the dental profession, and who has demonstrated good citizenship by participation in worthwhile community affairs.

Robert "Bob" J. O'Donnell, DDS Named Dentist of the Year

The newest recipient of the Michael T. Rainwater Dentist of the Year Award     

2022 Dentist of the Year

Bob_ODonnellThe Northern District Dental Society is proud to announce Dr. Bob O’Donnell as the newest recipient of the Michael T. Rainwater Dentist of the Year Award.  Dr. O'Donnell has provided comprehensive dental care for generations of families in the Atlanta area since 1989. After receiving an undergraduate degree in Microbiology from The University of Georgia, he completed his Doctor of Dental Surgery in 1986 from Emory University. He served five years as Clinical Instructor for Emory's Department of General Practice Residency for Post Graduate Dentistry and opened his own practice in 1989.

Dr. O'Donnell embraces ongoing training for himself and his staff, and he promotes a patient-focused commitment to optimal oral health care, for all ages. A strong believer in community service, he stays very active in a number of professional associations and volunteer organizations.

When not practicing dentistry, Dr. O'Donnell enjoys time with his family at their home in Milton. Traveling and golf are some favorite pastimes, and it's not uncommon to find him in the North Carolina mountains on the weekends.

Professional Associations:

American Dental Association: Member since 1982
Georgia Dental Association: Member since 1986, Board of Trustees
Academy of General Dentistry: Member since 1987
Hinman Dental Society: Member since 1989, Chairman 2020 and 2021
Northern District Dental Society: Member since 1986, President 2007-2008
Georgia Academy of Dental Practice: Member since 2008


Pierre Fauchard Academy: Honorable Fellow
International College of Dentists: Honorable Fellow
American College of Dentists: Honorable Fellow
Georgia Dental Association: Honorable Fellow
Alpharetta Star Award: Recognition by Mayor of Alpharetta for excellent preservation of 1920's historical home (current practice location)

Community Service:

Ben Massell Dental Clinic: Volunteer Dentist since 2004
Christina's Smile Children's Dental Clinic: Volunteer Dentist since 2002
Greater Atlanta Dental Foundation: President since 2008

2021 - Tom Jagor
2020 - Tom Jagor
2019 - Roy McDonald
2018 - Donald Brown
2017 - Jeffrey A. Kendrick
2016 - Chris L. Adkins
2015 - Ben W. Jernigan, Jr
2014 - Carol M. Wolff
2013 - Douglas B. Torbush
2012 – L. Maxwell Ferguson
2011 - Jonathan S. Dubin
2010 - Bradley K. Greenway
2009 - James Granade, Jr.
2008 - Sidney R. Tourial
2007 - Richard A. Weinman
2006 - Lee B. Hawkins
2005 - Wayne E. Kerr
2004 - John F. MacNamara
2003 - Marie C. Schweinebraten
2002 - Michael T. Rainwater
2001 - Thomas H. Callahan
2000 - William F. Schroeder
1999 - Charles T. Ruhl
1998 - William B. Shropshire
1997 - David R. Graham
1996 - Suhayl Rafeedie 
1995 - Richard A. Smith 
1994 - D. Ronald Weathers 
1993 - Roy W. Adams
1992 - Eugene F. Willis, Jr.
1991 - J. David Allen
1990 - Theodore C. Levitas
1989 - William E. Harris
1988 - Donald E. Johnson
1987 - Harold Lanier
1986 - William L. Callahan, Jr.
1985 - Rollin E. Mallernee
1984 - Joseph W. Looper
1983 - R. Stan Hopkins
1982 - Emile T. Fisher
1981 - Marvin C. Goldstein
1980 - Marvin M. Sugarman
1979 - Jack D. Rousso
1978 - Wilmer B. Eames
1976 - James R. Sherard
1975 - Mary Lynn Morgan
1974 - Irving H. Goldstein
1973 - Charles H. Smith
1972 - Lee Malone
1971 - R. Arch McEwen